Congratulations are extended to Thomas Reich who was recently appointed to fill the vacant Region I (Ralpho Township) seat on the Southern Columbia Area Board of Education.   With Mr. Reich's appointment, SCA's Board now consists of eight members. One Region II seat is still available. If you are a resident of Catawissa Borough or Catawissa Township and have a desire to serve as a school director, please contact Board Secretary Tresa Britch ( or Superintendent Paul Caputo (

Congrats are also extended to Board Member Charlie Porter who was recently honored for his long-term service as a school director. Mr. Porter was presented a certificate adding him to the Pennsylvania School Boards Association's "Honor Roll of School Board Service" for his 16 years of dedicated, volunteer service to Southern Columbia's schools.

January is recognized as School Director Recognition Month. The theme of this year's celebration is Celebrating Our Everyday Heroes. In 2014, the typical school director spends an average of 16-20 hours per month devoted to school business (stated another way- 2 1/2 working days a month of nonpaid, volunteer service). We congratulate and thank the school directors of SCA, and elsewhere, for their dedicated service to their local communities and to the education of  today's youth.




Special Features

Take a look back at the summer 2017 facility renovation projects and check on the progress of the Tiger Stadium project via Sway's storyline. Summer projects through August 27, 2017. Tiger Stadium- Start to Present (updated February 2, 2018)Learn More

Southern Columbia Area High School eaned lifetime status as National Blue Ribbon School in 2016, being named a National Blue Ribbon School for Exemplary High Performing School. Click the links below to read more about the school's National Blue Ribbon Schools award recognition. Learn More

An information and resource page pertaining to issues which influence the school budgeting process has been created and can be found by clicking on this link.Learn More