The February 12, 2001 Board Meeting of the Southern Columbia Area School District Board of Directors convened in the High School Library with President Craig Roadarmel in charge of the meeting.


         Pledge of Allegiance was said by all.


         President Roadarmel welcomed everyone followed by a roll call of Board Members:



Rae Atherton                                 Henry Hynoski-Arr. 7:31pm      Charles Porter

Francis Berger                              Linda Kreischer-Absent             Craig Roadarmel

Elsie Bittner                                  Karl Meyer                                 Daniel Yeager-Absent



Dr. Steve Wilcox, Superintendent; Joseph Springer, Business Manager; Richard J. Roberts, Jr., Solicitor; David Becker, Pat Shultz, Alan Lonoconus (Arr. 7:45), Roy Clippinger, Administrators; and members of the media.





Dr. Wilcox requested an Executive Session following tonight’s meeting for personnel, legal, and real estate issues.  He further reported on the following:  1.)  nomination for CSIU board must be made by June 30th;  2.)  Materials for election filing were put at each member’s place; and 3.) noted that errors were found in the 21st Century Learning Grant application.  These will be corrected; the granting agency has indicated the errors do not have any effect on the grant award.  Members of the board and Dr. Wilcox then discussed various aspects of the grant program.


Mr. Porter asked that the errors be corrected and our eligibility verified.  The board will then determine the acceptability of the grant program.



            On a motion by Atherton and second by Meyer, continuing to investigate the 21st Century Learning Grant was approved.  By a roll call vote:  6-Yes; 2-No; 1-Absent, the motion carried (Berger and Porter voted no).





  1. Jessica Yeager, Middle School Student Council Representative, reported on activities over the past several months.
  2. Mrs. Pat Shultz presented information on full-day kindergarten and staffing needs for grades K-4.
  3. Mr. Dave Becker reviewed staffing needs for grades 5-6.
  4. Mr. Bill Hoffner reviewed Special Education staffing for K-6.
  5. Mr. Springer distributed and reviewed elementary center projects anticipated for the future.

Board Meeting Minutes

February 12, 2001

Page 2





  1. Dr. Wilcox asked Rich Roberts to review the district’s response to the Act 50 petition.  Craig Roadarmel asked the administration to explore ways to get the word out and find those interested in serving.  A special board meeting will be held March 6th at 7:30pm to review and appoint the Tax Study Commission applicants.



            Activities – Linda Kreischer, Chairperson, reported that athletes’ pictures in the gym lobby will all be made a uniform size; the Band Booster stand requires a 2nd exit; two wrestling mats are needed; and FBLA stipend needed for 2001-02.

            Curriculum – Elsie Bittner, Chairperson, reported that staffing issues and full-day kindergarten were discussed.

            Facilities – Charles Porter, Chairperson, reported that the committee met on 2/7/01 and discussed electricity to lower fields; heard a presentation on four major projects:  cafeteria expansion, elementary bleachers, orange room conversion to classrooms, and stadium bleachers.

            Finance – Karl Meyer, Chairperson, reported that the committee met on 1/24/01 and reviewed issues that will have a major effect on the budget.

            Negotiations & Personnel – Rae Atherton, Chairperson reported that the committee met with The Association on 2/6/01 along with the mediator, Kent Roberts.  The next meetings are 3/5/01 and 3/28/01.

            Policy – Frank Berger, Chairperson, reported the first meeting will be 2/19/01 at 6pm.            CSIU – Linda Kreischer reported the last meeting was held in the Sunbury Head Start Building.

            CMAVTS – Craig Roadarmel reported on the Resolution on the agenda this evening and the draft of the AVTS Budget for 2001-02.



            On a motion by Berger and second by Hynoski, the resignation of Julie Steele from the position of Business Office Secretary, effective at the end of the 2000-01 school year, was accepted with regret.  Ms. Steele plans to retire after 22 years with the District.  Motion carried by unanimous affirmative voice vote.


            On a motion by Atherton and second by Berger, adding the following personnel to the 2000-01 Instructional Substitute List (pending completion of all employment requirements) was approved.

Ø     John J. Messer, Secondary Business Education

Ø     Kerri Rovito, Elementary Education

Ø     Krista Breeding, K-12

Ø     Larry B. Breech, K-12

Ø     Patricia a. Leighow, K-12

Classified Substitute List

Ø     Brenda Webb, Bus/Van Driver

Ø     Roger Derk, Bus/Van Driver




Board Meeting Minutes

February 12, 2001

Page 3





Mr. Porter asked for an update on the Driver Ed backlog and about the new report card format.  Dr. Lonoconus responded.  Mr. Berger asked if grant applications should be reviewed and approved by the Board prior to submission.  President Roadarmel asked if grant applications could be made a part of the Superintendent’s Report.  Dr. Wilcox responded.  Mr. Berger asked if the information could be part of the Friday letter.  Mrs. Atherton stated the Board should support the administration in the grant process.  Mr. Meyer agreed but said he would like to be informed.  Mr. Berger asked about the “30 Seconds” comments from a student regarding harassment.  Dr. Lonoconus responded.  Dr. Lonoconus informed the board that he is investigating bringing seniors in on Saturdays to make up the 2 snow days at the end of the year.



Richard Gotshall, representing the Taxpayers’ Survival Group, asked the Board to consider the ongoing commitment from the grants they are considering.  Also Act 50 should be seriously reviewed.



            On a motion by Meyer and second by Porter, the meeting was adjourned at 10:35 p.m.  Motion carried by unanimous affirmative voice vote.


                                                                                    Respectfully submitted,




                                                                                    Susan J. Helwig

                                                                                    Board Secretary