Board of Education

What is a School Board?

A school board is a legislative body of citizens called school directors, who are elected locally by their fellow citizens and who serve as agents of the state legislature. Each board consists of nine members who serve four-year terms of office without pay.  School directors, although locally elected, are really state officials, co-partners with the legislature. They are designated by school law to administer the school system in each district-  source PSBA.

Committee and Meeting Information

Access to District Policies, Minutes, and Meeting Agendas

Board Membership

The Southern Columbia Area School District Board of Education consists of nine members. Effective with the 2015 Primary Elections, all nine seats are “at-large,” meaning candidates do not have to live within a specific region to run for office; they simply must be a resident of one of the following communities:

Catawissa Borough, Catawissa Township, Cleveland Township, Franklin Township, Locust Township, Ralpho Township, or Roaring Creek Township.

Southern Columbia Area School Board

To send one email to the entire group of all nine Board Members at once, please click HERE.  If you want to email a specific Board Member individually, please click on the email link below the member’s name.

Brianna Maciejewski

President
CMAVTS JOC Alternate
(Nov 2022)

Term Expires December 2023
bmaciejewski@scasd.us

Joshua Hoagland

Vice President
CMAVTS JOC Alternate
(Nov 2022)

Term Expires December 2025
jhoagland@scasd.us

Greg Klebon

Treasurer
CSIU Representative
CMAVTS JOC Alternate
(Nov 2022)

Term Expires December 2023
gklebon@scasd.us

Cynthia Brassington

CMAVTS JOC Alternate (Nov 2023)

Term Expires December 2025
cbrassington@scasd.us

Drew Hampton

CMAVTS JOC (Nov 2022)

Term Expires December 2023
dhampton@scasd.us

Joshua Maciejewski

CMAVTS JOC Alternate (Nov 2022)

Term Expires December 2025
jmaciejewski@scasd.us

Justin Rodriguez

CMAVTS JOC (Nov 2023)

Term Expires December 2025
jrodriguez@scasd.us

Anthony Serafini

PSBA Liaison
CMAVTS JOC Alternate
(Nov 2022)

Term Expires December 2025
aserafini@scasd.us

Timothy Vought

CMAVTS JOC Alternate (Nov 2022)

Term Expires December 2023
tvought@scasd.us

Non-voting Members

Carl Beard, Beard Legal Group

Solicitor

James Becker

Superintendent

jbecker@scasd.us

Tresa Britch

Board Secretary

tbritch@scasd.us

Ted Yeager

CMAVTS Authority

Board Meeting Schedule 2022

All meetings will begin at 7:00 p.m., in the High School Library (unless otherwise advertised), and will be live streamed on the Southern Columbia Area School District YouTube channel. Public comment may be submitted through Microsoft Forms. Links to access the meeting and the Public Comment form will be posted in the News and Announcements on the homepage the day of the meeting. Following are the regularly scheduled Board meetings:

January 10

February 21

March 21

April 25

May 16

June 20

July 18

August 15

September 19

October 17

November 21

December 5

Superintendent Contract and Evaluation

As a result of Act 82 of 2012, formal written contracts for superintendents and assistant superintendents are required. The contracts must contain the “terms and conditions” of the superintendent’s employment and “complete agreement between the district superintendent or assistant district superintendent and the board of school directors,” including a number of mandatory provisions. At a minimum, the written agreement must expressly address the following issues:

  1. Job duties and responsibilities

  2. The job description

  3. Performance expectations

Southern Columbia Area School District’s Superintendent Contract and Performance Objectives